Under 21 DUI in Georgia
Drivers under the age of 21 who get arrested for driving under the influence in Georgia do not get any special treatment by the police or prosecutors. Even though underage drivers are held to a higher standard that other drivers when it comes to alcohol, they still face the same harsh penalties. Young drivers may also be less willing to admit to family or friends that they got a DUI and are more hesitant to ask for help. As soon as you or a loved one are arrested for an Atlanta DUI, contact an experienced Georgia DUI lawyer as soon as possible so you can fight the DUI charges and keep your life on the right track.
Driving drunk is against the law, but the level of intoxication which is considered per se against the law is different for different drivers. For most drivers, getting caught with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher is considered impaired driving. However, for drivers under 21 years old, any BAC of 0.02 percent or higher is considered impaired driving. Georgia has a zero tolerance policy towards underage drinking and driving. This means that a 20 year old who drinks less than one can of beer and drives could be arrested for drunk driving and face the same penalties as a 21 year old who drank 6 beers and drove.
The penalties for underage DUI are harsh, and include fees paid to the court, mandatory completion of a DUI Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program, including the costs of the program, community service, and a suspended driver's license. After an arrest, the police will confiscate the driver's license and hand them a temporary permit. The temporary permit is only valid for 30 days, after which the driver's license will be suspended for 6 months. The only way to stop your license suspension is by requesting a hearing.
You only have 30 days to request a license suspension hearing or an ignition interlock device, or your license will be automatically suspended for 6 months to a year.
Your license suspension is handled by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. The only way to prevent the administrative license suspension (ALS) is by requesting a hearing within 30 days of your arrest, and paying the $150 filing fee. If you do not request a hearing, your suspension will automatically take place after your temporary permit expires. Your Atlanta DUI defense lawyer will be able to file the 30 day letter, and represent you at the ALS hearing to defend your rights to keep your license.
Atlanta Under-21 DUI Lawyer
If you or a loved one was arrested for underage drinking and driving in Atlanta, not only will your license will be suspended, but you may end up with a criminal record that will follow you for the rest of your life. Call me today, so we can immediately file a 30-day letter to save your driver's license. A DUI arrest does not have to end in a conviction, no matter how the police treated you. I have successfully represented hundreds of underage drivers charged with DUIs to get their cases dismissed and charges dropped.