4th Atlanta DUI Driver's License Revocation
If you have been arrested for your fourth DUI in Georgia, it may not seem like it will be any worse than the third. However, the law treats a fourth DUI within a 10 year period as a totally different category of crime. Your first, second or third DUIs were all treated as misdemeanor violations. The fourth DUI is a felony. A felony conviction will follow you for the rest of your life.
With a 4th Georgia DUI being a felony crime, you should expect real jail time, with a minimum of 90 days in prison, possibly up to 5 years. This is in addition to fines and more. If you previously had your driver's license revoked for a 3rd DUI, then you should know what to expect from the Department of Driver Services (DDS).
A fourth DUI will result in your Georgia Driver's License being revoked for five years. You will have to turn in all your license plates to the sentencing court. There is the possibility of a “hardship plate,” but that won't be for you to drive, but only for family or household members. Hardship plates are available only where a co-owner or member of the family is completely dependant on the vehicle for the necessities of life, and will be subject to hardship without a special plate. However, in the state of Georgia, hardship plates carry different numbers or letters, and identify the plate as belonging to a DUI offender. Law enforcement, or those familiar with the plate numbers' significance will be able to identify the driver as being related to a multiple DUI offender.
Similar to a license revocation after a third DUI within 5 years, a fourth DUI within 10 years will result in the driver being labeled as a habitual violator. Revocation lasts for 5 years. During the five year revocation, there will be absolutely no driving permitted for the first two years. There is no limited use or ignition interlock permit available during those two years. After the driver waits two years, they can seek to obtain an ignition interlock limited use permit. This is a probationary license, but it is up to the court whether they decide to issue this license or not. There is no guarantee that any driving will be allowed for at least 5 years.
Limited Driving Permit After a 4th DUI
If the court does grant a temporary limited permit, it will require installation of an ignition interlock device (IID). The driver would also have to complete their clinical alcohol or drug assessment and treatment, and the DUI Risk Reduction program. The limited permit will allow driving only between certain locations, and during certain hours. This could be limited to driving to and from work, school, DUI school, alcohol abuse meetings, and for medical care.
You may be able to get your driver's license reinstated after revocation for a 4th DUI. After waiting the 5 year revocation period, and completing all DDS requirements, including payment of a $410 reinstatement fee, then you may be able to have your license back, without time and place driving limitations.
Atlanta Fourth DUI Lawyer
Fighting a fourth DUI can be more complicated than challenging a first, second or even third DUI, because a fourth DUI is a felony. With so much more at stake, you need a skilled Atlanta DUI defense lawyer with experience representing people charged with felony DUI. Don't risk long-term loss of your license to drive and a felony criminal record. Call me anytime 24/7, so we can get started to keep you out of jail, and save your license.